- Which PCEA This Sheet Covers
- Exam Format at a Glance
- Fees, Retakes, and Attempt Limits
- Eligibility and the PCEA-Eligible Status
- Passing Score and Historical Pass Rates
- Test-Day Rules and Tools
- The 16 Preparation Modules, Condensed
- Sequencing the Modules in Your Review
- Conflicting Details to Verify Before Booking
- Validity and Renewal
- Frequently Asked Questions
- PCEA is ICEAA's Part I exam: 60 one-point multiple-choice questions in two hours, conceptual plus single-step calculations.
- ICEAA's overview states a 70% passing requirement and a historical 55.6% pass rate for 2024-2025.
- Online fee is $165 for members or $275 for non-members; a failed-exam retake costs $65 either way.
- No personal calculators, notes, or desktop Excel; only the integrated calculator/ScratchPad and one blank sheet are allowed.
Which PCEA This Sheet Covers
"PCEA" is an acronym shared by several unrelated credentials. This sheet covers only the Professional Cost Estimator/Analyst (PCEA) offered by the International Cost Estimating and Analysis Association (ICEAA). It is the Part I credential in ICEAA's program, distinct from the CCEA Part II and the SCEC. If you are looking for background on the credential itself, start with What Is PCEA Certification? or What Does PCEA Stand For?.
Everything below is drawn from ICEAA's certification pages, its FAQ, the CEBoK 2.0 preparation curriculum, and ICEAA's published program overview. Where those sources disagree, this sheet says so rather than guessing.
Exam Format at a Glance
| Item | PCEA Fact |
|---|---|
| Questions | 60 multiple-choice, one point each |
| Time limit | Two hours |
| Difficulty level | Conceptual/basic questions and single-step calculations |
| Scope | All 16 CEBoK modules at terminology/concept and simpler-calculation level |
| Delivery | Remote, AI-proctored online testing |
| Book policy | Closed book |
| Scored vs. unscored items | Not separately disclosed |
The "single-step calculation" language is the most useful detail on the page. You are not being asked to build a multi-stage estimate under time pressure; you are being asked to recognize the right formula, plug in the numbers, and get one clean answer. That means fluency with core relationships matters more than stamina for long derivations. For a candid take on the difficulty level, see How Hard Is the PCEA Exam?.
Fees, Retakes, and Attempt Limits
| Cost Item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Online exam, member | $165 |
| Online exam, non-member | $275 |
| Retake after a failed exam (member or non-member) | $65 |
| Annual ICEAA membership | $150 |
| Approved paper/offline alternatives | Add 20% |
The ICEAA pages show dollar amounts without explicitly labeling the currency as USD, so confirm at checkout. One arithmetic trap worth knowing: joining ICEAA ($150) plus the member exam ($165) totals $315, which is more than the $275 non-member fee. Membership is therefore not an exam-only saving on a single first attempt; it pays off only if you value the other member benefits or expect to retake. The full breakdown lives in PCEA Certification Cost 2026.
Attempt Limits
- At most two attempts in six months
- At most three attempts in 12 months
Those limits make a cheap $65 retake less of a safety net than it looks. If you are weak in several modules, finish your preparation before the first booking rather than treating attempt one as a diagnostic. Scheduling specifics are covered in PCEA Exam Dates 2026.
Eligibility and the PCEA-Eligible Status
The current rule has three working parts:
- A college degree in any discipline.
- Cost or cost-adjacent employment.
- Two years of qualifying experience to receive the award itself.
Under the current main-page and board-confirmed rule, you can test before you have the two years. A pass in that situation yields PCEA-Eligible status until your experience is verified. The application asks for a transcript and a resume.
For the full qualification walkthrough, read PCEA Requirements 2026.
Passing Score and Historical Pass Rates
ICEAA's Certification Program Overview (updated March 9, 2026) states that 70% is required to pass. On a 60-question, one-point exam, that is a raw target of 42 correct answers by simple arithmetic, though ICEAA does not disclose how many items are scored versus unscored, so treat 42 as a planning figure rather than a published cutoff. Note also that the live certification pages do not independently restate the numerical threshold; the 70% figure comes from the overview document.
| Source | Reported Figure | Context |
|---|---|---|
| Certification Program Overview, March 2026 | 55.6% historical PCEA pass rate | Covers 2024-2025; no first-attempt split or sample size |
| Annual Members' Meeting, September 2023 | 54.0% passing, 70.0% criterion | Dated historical figure |
Read these carefully. The 55.6% number is a historical 2024-2025 rate, not a 2026 rate, and the 54.0% figure is an older snapshot, not a competing current number. Neither tells you the first-attempt pass rate. Pass-rate context and its limits are discussed in PCEA Pass Rate 2026, and the scoring mechanics in PCEA Passing Score 2026.
Test-Day Rules and Tools
| Allowed | Prohibited |
|---|---|
| Integrated on-screen calculator/ScratchPad | Personal calculators |
| One blank sheet with writing instruments | Formula or reference sheets |
| Compatible computer with webcam and microphone | Notes and outside resources |
| Desktop Excel |
The point candidates most often miss is the formula sheet. ICEAA publishes a Formula Sheet for PCEA and CCEA Exams (dated February 21, 2025), but it is a preparation aid, not an authorized test-day reference. Study from it, memorize it, and expect to reproduce its relationships from memory on your one blank sheet.
Technical Setup
ICEAA administers exams through remote AI-proctored online testing. The IT requirements document it links (dated April 7, 2021) names Mercer/Mettl, and the FAQ links a Mettl demonstration. However, the currently contracted provider is not independently confirmed, so run the demonstration and the system check that ICEAA directs you to rather than assuming the 2021 document is the final word. Test your webcam, microphone, and connection before exam day.
Key Takeaway
Because only the built-in calculator is allowed, practice the single-step calculations without a physical calculator or spreadsheet. Rehearse on the same kind of basic on-screen tool you will actually use.
The 16 Preparation Modules, Condensed
ICEAA's CEBoK 2.0 curriculum organizes preparation into 16 modules. These are unweighted preparation modules, not a formal 16-domain exam blueprint, and no official percentages are verified. The member-only current Testable Topics tables were not retrieved, so the descriptions below reflect what the module titles and general cost-estimating practice indicate, not item-level coverage. For a fuller walkthrough, see PCEA Exam Domains 2026.
Domains 1-3: Foundations and Method
Cost Estimating Basics, Costing Techniques, and Parametric Estimating form the vocabulary layer.
- Know the standard estimating approaches and when each is appropriate
- Be able to tell analogy, parametric, and other methods apart by definition
- Understand what a cost estimating relationship is conceptually
Domains 4-6: Data Handling
Data Collection and Normalization, Inflation and Index Numbers, and Basic Data Analysis Principles.
- Normalizing data so unlike figures can be compared
- Applying an index to move dollars between years
- Reading basic summary measures of a dataset
Domains 7-8: Learning Curve and Regression Analysis
The most calculation-friendly pairing, well suited to single-step questions.
- Learning Curve is the live ICEAA heading; the syllabus and study plan say "Learning Curve Analysis"
- Know the core learning-curve relationship and how a curve slope behaves
- Interpret basic regression output at a conceptual level
Domains 9-10: Risk and Statistics
Cost and Schedule Risk Analysis alongside Probability and Statistics.
- Why point estimates alone understate uncertainty
- Core statistical terms and simple probability reasoning
Domains 11-12: Domain-Specific Estimating
Manufacturing Cost Estimating and Software Cost Estimating.
- Recognize the cost drivers distinctive to production work versus software work
- Expect terminology-level questions rather than deep modeling
Domains 13-16: Business and Control Topics
Economic Analysis, Contract Pricing, Earned Value Management, and Cost Management.
- Basic time-value-of-money ideas in Economic Analysis
- Contract pricing vocabulary and how contract structure shifts risk
- Earned Value Management relationships between planned, earned, and actual values
- Cost management as the ongoing control of an estimate after it is made
Sequencing the Modules in Your Review
Because no module weights are published, an even review across all 16 is the defensible default, with extra time reserved for whichever areas are new to you. A reasonable order front-loads vocabulary and data handling, then moves to the calculation-heavy modules, then closes with the applied topics. A broader plan is in the PCEA Study Guide 2026, and ICEAA's own notional study plan can serve as a pacing reference (its 2026-named version contains sample 2025 dates, so use it for structure, not for real deadlines).
Vocabulary Layer
- Cost Estimating Basics, Costing Techniques, Parametric Estimating
- Build a one-page glossary of terms
Data Handling
- Data Collection and Normalization, Inflation and Index Numbers, Basic Data Analysis Principles
- Drill index-based escalation until it is automatic
Calculation-Heavy Modules
- Learning Curve, Regression Analysis, Probability and Statistics
- Practice without a physical calculator or spreadsheet
Applied Topics and Mock Exams
- Risk, Manufacturing, Software, Economic Analysis, Contract Pricing, Earned Value, Cost Management
- Take timed 60-question runs against the two-hour limit
No mandatory preparation hours or universal reference count are verified, so treat this four-week shape as a sample, not an ICEAA requirement. Adjust it to your background. A candidate who already works with earned value daily can compress Week 4; someone new to statistics should expand Week 3. When you are ready to test yourself, the PCEA practice tests let you rehearse under timed conditions.
Conflicting Details to Verify Before Booking
ICEAA's own materials disagree in a few places. The sensible approach is to follow the live page and confirm directly when a detail affects your plan.
| Topic | One Source Says | Another Says |
|---|---|---|
| Results timing | About 10 business days (main page) | Five business days (FAQ) |
| Experience timing | Test first; PCEA-Eligible until verified (main page/board) | Two years required before testing (FAQ) |
| Module name | Learning Curve (live heading) | Learning Curve Analysis (syllabus/study plan) |
| Proctoring vendor | Mercer/Mettl (2021 IT document) | Current contracted provider not independently confirmed |
Validity and Renewal
A PCEA is valid for three years. Renewal means passing the PCEA exam again at the applicable standard examination fee. This is different from the CCEA, which uses a five-year cycle with a continuing-education points route. Do not carry that CCEA renewal model over to PCEA. If you are weighing the long-term value of a credential that needs periodic re-examination, see Is the PCEA Certification Worth It?, and for the earnings and hiring picture, PCEA Salary Guide 2026 and PCEA Jobs.
Frequently Asked Questions
The exam has 60 one-point multiple-choice questions with a two-hour time limit. Questions are conceptual/basic or single-step calculations. ICEAA does not separately disclose how many items are scored versus unscored.
ICEAA's Certification Program Overview (updated March 9, 2026) states 70% is required to pass. The live certification pages do not independently restate that number, so confirm it with ICEAA if the exact threshold matters to you.
No. The exam is closed book. You may use the integrated calculator/ScratchPad and one blank sheet with writing instruments. Personal calculators, formula sheets, notes, desktop Excel, and outside resources are prohibited. The published formula sheet is a study aid only.
The online exam is $165 for members and $275 for non-members. A failed-exam retake is $65 for either group. You are limited to two attempts in six months and three in 12 months.
No official weights are verified. The 16 domains are ICEAA's unweighted CEBoK preparation modules, not a formal exam blueprint, so avoid assuming any single domain carries a larger share of questions.
Use this sheet as a checklist, then verify any time-sensitive detail against ICEAA's current certification page before you book. For a structured next step, work through the practice question sets and keep the PCEA cheat sheet handy as a quick reference.